Time Plus News

Breaking News, Latest News, World News, Headlines and Videos

Meet 13 residents who shine

WARREN — After pausing for a year because of the pandemic, the 20th class of Community Stars has been chosen by the Tribune Chronicle.

The program recognizes the brightest examples of community service and the people who perform those good deeds. Trumbull 100 will co-sponsor for the 12th year.

An awards dinner will take place April 5 at the St. Demetrios Banquet Center in Warren and will honor the winners from 2020 as well as this year. The 2020 banquet was canceled because of the statewide COVID-19 shutdown that began just before the banquet was scheduled.

The 2020 winners were Cindy Angelo of Warren, Beverly Gartland of Warren, Basil and Mary Lou Jarrett of Cortland, Pastor George Johnson of Warren, Virginia Logan of Kinsman, Terry Mascioli of Cortland, Ellie Monchak and Jean Potashnik, both of Warren, John Payiavlas of Warren, John Streitferdt of Warren and Carole Wiley of Cortland.

The Community Stars program celebrates volunteers who go above and beyond to make a measurable impact in the lives of others. Stories about the winners will appear in a special section in the Tribune Chronicle the day after the awards banquet.

“We hope the community will join us to honor the 2020 and the 2022 Community Stars who have each made an impact. They use their time, talent and compassion to make our community a better place and we are grateful,” said Sue Shafer, community events coordinator for the Tribune Chronicle.

Tickets are $25 for the awards dinner. An order form will be published in the newspaper, or call Shafer at 330-841-1696 to order tickets.

This year’s Community Stars are:

• Toussaint Blake of Warren, who was nominated by 2008 Community Star Deryck Toles, founder and CEO of Inspiring Minds. Blake, who works in the financial services industry, is a mentor at Inspiring Minds and conducts financial literacy programs for many Valley organizations.

• Allen Briggs of Leavittsburg, who was nominated by his daughter, Kristie. He is a Marine Corps veteran of Vietnam and is active in many local veterans organizations, as well as serving on the board of the Trumbull County Veterans Services Commission.

• William “Bill” Dennis of Cortland, who was nominated by his brother, Douglas. He volunteers with the Trumbull County Sheriff’s Office, the Warren Civic Music Association and the National Packard Museum.

• Jacob Fowler of Youngstown and John Fowler III of Leavittsburg, who were nominated by the newspaper for preventing a woman from drowning in the Mahoning River in May of 2020.

• Kathy Lepro of Warren, who was nominated by 2020 Community Star Jean Potashnik and her husband, Chuck. She is one of the founders of the Historic Perkins Homestead Neighborhood Association, along with her husband, Lou, a 2017 Community Star. She also is on the board of Trumbull Town Hall and the Upton Association, as well as volunteers at the St. Vincent de Paul soup kitchen and at St. Mary Church in Warren.

• Jessica Licata of Vienna, who was nominated by Roberta Shields. Licata has spearheaded the take home food backpack program for the Mathews Local School District since 2018. She also is a Scout troop leader and volunteers at her church.

• Chuck and Donna Mackey of Warren, who were nominated by Howland Trustee Rick Clark. The couple established a food pantry at Bolindale Christian Church 10 years ago.

• Mark and Cindee Mines of Champion, who received multiple nominations from 2015 Community Star Martha Ellers, National Packard Museum Executive Director Mary Ann Porinchak, 2018 Community Star Katylu Herriman, Howland Historical Society member Ruth Ann Capito, resident Linda Woodford and fellow 2022 Community Star and Trumbull County Historical Society Executive Director Meghan Reed.

• Meghan Reed of Warren, director of the Trumbull County Historical Society, who was nominated by Shawn Carvin from Trumbull Neighborhood Partnership. Reed is president of the W.D. Packard Foundation Board of Directors, a member of the Wean Foundation committee and Any Given Child committee.

• Dan Roscoe of Vienna, who was nominated by Julia Wike, pastor of Basement Outreach Ministries. Roscoe does outreach ministry with the organization.

Source link

Blog - UK News - BlogUK News - BlogUK